By Official Florida FC

Florida’s Mr. Soccer will be announced next week.

Here is a look at the six finalists who are in consideration for the award. They are the Player of the Year in each of the state’s six classifications.

Class 7A Player of the Year: Antonio Mancinotti, Jacksonville Mandarin

Scored 29 goals and added 19 assists to help the Mustangs finish 18-1-1.

Class 6A Player of the Year: Max May, Viera

He scored 20 goals and 22 assists to help Viera finish 21-0-1. The Hawks were Florida’s only unbeaten boys soccer team this season.

Class 5A Player of the Year: Harvey Sarajian, Naples

He scored 21 goals added 11 assists to help Naples advance to the state final for the first time since 1995.

Class 4A Player of the Year: Jace Overturf, Orlando Bishop Moore

Scored 24 goals, provided 10 assists to help Hornets advance to state final and finish 23-3-1.

Class 3A Player of the Year: Rafael Guerra, Fort Lauderdale University School

He scored or assisted on 55 of the Sharks’ 91 goals scored this season. He finished with 35 goals and 20

assists to help University School finish 19-2-1 and advance to the state final.

Class 2A Player of the Year: Mason Ricker, Fort Myers Canterbury School

The senior goalkeeper recorded 15 clean sheets in 22 matches and a 0.37 goals against average for the state finalists – despite facing fellow Mr. Soccer finalists Jace Overturf and Harvey Sarajian in the regular season.  

Interestingly, only one of the six led his team to a state championship.

May likely has the inside track on the award considering he assisted the equalizer and scored the game-winner in the state semifinal, then followed up with producing the opening goal in the Class 6A state final.

Coach of the Year finalists

The Florida Dairy Farmers also announced its Boys Soccer Coach of the Year finalists on March 15. Three of the six led their programs to an inaugural state championship, another helped their program repeat while the two others helped their private schools return to former glories by winning state titles.

Here are the finalists: John Quirk, Clermont East Ridge (Class 7A, 19-3-1); Nick Robinson, Viera (Class 6A, 21-0-1); Todd Goodman, Plantation American Heritage (Class 5A, 19-1-2); Scott Davidson, Miami Gulliver Prep (Class 4A, 16-4-2); Ray Sandidge, Winter Park Trinity Prep (Class 3A, 15-1-2); Staci Wilson (Class 2A, 14-3-1).